There has been a lot of discussion recently about student safety because in order to post videos larger than 2MB on student blogs they must first be uploaded to YouTube. Once a video has been published to YouTube, it can be searched by others and accessed more easily by a global audience. Here are the different privacy settings you can choose when publishing a video to YouTube:
When you upload a video, by default it’s set as a “Public” video, which means that anybody can view it. You can manage the privacy settings and control who has access to view this content.
A private video can only be seen by you and the users you select. The video won’t appear on your channel or search results and will be invisible to other users.
Channel connected to Google+
You need to link your channel with Google+ in order to share a private video with other users.
If your channel is connected to Google+, you’ll see a field under the “Privacy Settings” drop-down menu where you can add the profiles or email addresses of the people with whom you’d like to share your video. They’ll need a Google account to view your video. You can also share your videos with Google+ circles.
Channel not connected to Google+
If you have not linked your channel with Google+, you won’t be able to share private videos with other users.
If you have private videos that you previously shared with users will continue to be visible by them. You won’t be able to modify the list of users who are able to view your private video, except to remove all users’ access to the video. To share it with other users you will need to connect your account with Google+.
Making a video unlisted means that anyone who has the link to the video can view it. Your unlisted videos won’t appear to others who visit the Videos tab of your channel page and shouldn’t show up in YouTube’s search results unless someone adds your unlisted video to a public playlist.
To share an unlisted video, just share the link with the people who you’d like to have access to it, and they’ll be able to see it. Unlike private videos, the people you share the video with do not need a Google account to see the video. Anyone with the link can also re-share it in a number of ways, such as simply forwarding the link. If you don’t want to allow others to re-share your video, make it Private.
Your YouTube account needs to be in good standing to be able to create unlisted videos.
So, it would be my recommendation to publish videos to YouTube as Unlisted. That way you can still share your content with others and embed videos on your blog, while at the same time maintaining a little more privacy. It is important to remember however that anytime you post content to the internet it can be shared and therefore accessed by a wider audience than you may have originally intended.
If you have any further questions please feel free to comment on this post!
This post was written thanks to Jenn Regier who recently replied to a comment on a post about safely publishing videos to YouTube. Thanks Jenn!